Hair Talk / Kasey LeGall


Tell us your name and where you are from?

My name is Kasey LeGall, i'm 26 years old and i live in Leicester. I currently work in recruitment in the Compliance Department.

How long have you been natural?

I've been natural for 9 years and i've had various different styles and colours (so many of them).

Why did you make the decision to go natural?

I was mainly bored of my hairstyle and i found that couldn’t do much with it being relaxed. However I also wanted to move away from the chemicals, hair breakage, re-growth and scalp burn.

What is your hair type/texture?

Even though I have a white British mother, my hair is very thick, course and bushy with both curls and frizz (depends how lazy I am with it). But I’m very fortunate as my hair grows at an extreme rate.

Describe your styling regimen over the course of a week.

I use pins, grips, headbands and scarves to create different looks, but have to keep it fairly professional for work. I had a mohawk at one point but it didn’t go down very well, so i shaved it off. 

Describe a typical wash day

I wash my hair once every 1-2 weeks. I’m very active and go to the gym five times a week, as well as bike everywhere so as you can imagine my hair and scalp gets very sweaty and itchy. At my current length I try not to wash it too much, just a rinse if I start to feel my scalp getting irritable. After washing it I apply Argan oil (a fair amount) and Soft ‘n’ Free styling gel to my hair.

What is your favourite go to hairstyle? 

Pinned sides to give a Mohawk look.

List your top 5 products

  • Argan oil
  • Soft ‘n’ Free Styling gel
  • Aussie Miracle Moist Conditioner
  • Curls Rock by Tigi Catwalk

 

Would you like to share you natural hair story? Contact me here.